Cost segregation pricing data: same house, $495–$3,500
By CostSegregationMatch · Updated October 2026
Published cost segregation fees for the same $500,000 rental house run from $495 to $3,500. Ten prices from eight sellers span that 7-fold gap, with $1,146 in the middle, according to CostSegregationMatch's October 2026 analysis. This cost segregation pricing data shows what each price buys and which add-on erases a $100 head start.
The example uses $100,000 of land, 2,000 square feet and no renovations. These are base study fees worked out from published rules, before optional help, not quotes we requested. The full table shows each source.
Key cost segregation pricing statistics
For the same $500,000 rental house, ten base study prices from eight sellers run from $495 to $3,500, a gap of about 7 times, according to CostSegregationMatch's analysis of published fees (October 2026). The example uses $100,000 of land, 2,000 square feet and no renovations. Source and math.
The middle base study price for the stated $500,000 rental-house example is $1,146 (CostSegregationMatch analysis of ten prices from eight sellers, October 2026). This is a median of published fees and calculations, not prices paid. Source and math.
The lowest published base-study fee in this collection is $495, listed by three sellers: CostSegregation.com, DIY Cost Seg and Cost Seg Smart, each with different property limits (seller price pages, checked October 6, 2026). Source and math.
With each seller's listed audit help added, the five cheapest base offers with a known support total for the stated $500,000 rental house cost $495, $790, $790, $895 and $1,090 (CostSegregationMatch analysis, October 2026). Source and math.
DIY Cost Seg's $295 audit option adds 59.6% to its $495 report price, and Cost Seg EZ's $195 option adds 32.8% to its $595 price (CostSegregationMatch math from seller order pages, checked October 6, 2026). Source and math.
Published engineering-study fees include $1,500 flat for one building at Succentrix in Dallas–Fort Worth, from $1,800 for a single-family home at Overline, and from $2,320 for residential property at R.E. Cost Seg (seller pages, checked October 6, 2026). Source and math.
Madison SPECS lists a typical $4,000–$11,000 study range, and Maven lists $4,000–$9,000; Engineered Tax Services gives $3,000–$12,000 as general guidance for professionally prepared studies, not expressly its own tariff (provider pages, checked October 6, 2026). Madison and Maven sources · ETS source.
In this collection, 8 of 16 seller groups publish a fee or rule that can price a stated property before a quote; that count does not measure the full market (CostSegregationMatch analysis, October 2026). Source and math.
Three sellers in this collection publish a separate price for Form 3115 work: $450, $600 and $750 (Succentrix, R.E. Cost Seg and My Cost Segregation pages, checked October 6, 2026). Source and math.
Stratum Cost Segregation lists $2,900 per property for three to five properties, which is $600, or 17.1%, less than its $3,500 single-property price (Stratum pricing page, checked October 6, 2026). Source and math.
A range of '$5,000 to $15,000' for a study appears in an accounting firm's FAQ dated July 1, 2022, with no fee dataset or sample disclosed (Clark Schaefer Hackett, checked October 6, 2026). Source and math.
On this page: Same-house prices · Look up your property · What each seller publishes · Audit help · Engineered studies · What $495 covers · Who publishes prices · By property type · Extras · Portfolios · Turnaround · Fee types · Pages that disagree · Method · Cite · Download · Questions · Sources
What does a cost segregation study cost for the same $500,000 rental house?
Ten base study prices from eight sellers can be worked out for this house, and they run from $495 to $3,500. The middle price is $1,146. Some are flat fees; others use a published formula. Other offers have only a starting price or a typical range.
Here is the house. It is a single-family rental someone bought for $500,000. We set aside $100,000 for land, which is our assumption, so the building is $400,000. It is 2,000 square feet, one unit, not new, not a condo, with no renovations.
Land matters because its cost cannot be depreciated. So some sellers price on the building alone, and some price on what you paid. For My Cost Segregation's 'property value' input, we use the $500,000 purchase price. No portfolio discount or optional concierge help is added.
| Seller and offer | Published price | Listed audit help | Price with that audit help | How we got the price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CostSegregation.com residential report | $495 | Included | $495 | $400,000 of building is inside its $750,000 flat tier |
| DIY Cost Seg residential report | $495 | +$295 | $790 | $500,000 minus $100,000 land is inside its first order-form tier |
| Cost Seg EZ DIY | $595 | +$195 | $790 | Residential, not a condo, under $1,000,000; no improvements |
| Cost Seg Smart study | $895 | Included | $895 | $500,000 is at least $300,000 and below $700,000 |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO Engineer Reviewed | $895 | +$195 | $1,090 | Residential under $1,000,000; no improvements |
| My Cost Segregation Residential Self-Serve | $1,397 | Included pledge | $1,397 | Public formula at $500,000 property value; final fee must be confirmed in the seller's engagement letter |
| Succentrix one-building study (Dallas–Fort Worth firm) | $1,500 | Audit support file included; representation not stated | — | Flat fee for one building; national availability not confirmed |
| AE Tax Advisors study | $2,000 | Not stated | — | 2,000 sq ft × $1 = $2,000, its minimum; standard scope |
| My Cost Segregation Residential Expert Reviewed | $3,400 | Included pledge | $3,400 | Public formula at $500,000 property value; final fee must be confirmed in the seller's engagement letter |
| Stratum Single Property | $3,500 | Scope not listed | — | Flat fee for one residential property |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026. Prices applied to the house by CostSegregationMatch. The $100,000 land amount and 2,000 square feet are our assumptions. These are published fees and calculations, not quotes. Blank totals mean the source did not establish a comparable audit-help total.
The math is short. $3,500 ÷ $495 = 7.07. Where one seller's listed fee is $1, another's is about $7. Line the ten prices up from low to high. The two middle prices are $895 and $1,397, so the median is ($895 + $1,397) ÷ 2 = $1,146. These fees equal about 0.1% to 0.7% of the $500,000 purchase price.
Same house. The house did not change. What you get did. The $495 report is software you fill in yourself. The $3,500 offer includes a full engineering-based study.
Other offers have a starting price, a typical range or no price. These figures do not establish what this house would cost at those sellers.
| Seller and offer | What it publishes | Kind of price |
|---|---|---|
| R.E. Cost Seg software study | From $500 | Advertised start; detailed eligibility and order rule not established |
| R.E. Cost Seg Rapid Report | From $950 | Starting price; this house is inside the stated limits |
| Overline single-family study | From $1,800 | Starting base price in April 2, 2026 article |
| R.E. Cost Seg Fully Engineered Study | From $2,320 | Residential starting price |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO Fully Engineered | From $2,500 | Starting price |
| CSSI | Typically from about $2,500 | Approximate starting price; review needed |
| CSA Partners | From $3,000 | General starting price; this house needs eligibility review |
| Madison SPECS | $4,000–$11,000 | Typical range; each property priced individually |
| Maven | $4,000–$9,000 | Typical range; no fee for this house established |
| Engineered Tax Services | No own fee established | Its $3,000–$12,000 general market guidance is in Table 7 |
| Seneca | No dollar price | Quote only |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026. A starting price is a lower advertised amount, sometimes approximate. A typical range is not a price for this house.
Which published prices apply to your property?
Pick a property type and a price, and the lookup lists the checked published prices that may apply, from $495 up. It shows what kind of price each one is, the limit that applies, and the source. Nothing you type is saved or sent.
The lookup uses the same rows as the tables on this page. It is a list of published facts. It is not a quote, and it does not guess your tax savings.
Published price lookup
Change the inputs to see checked seller prices, public-rule calculations, limits, and sources. Nothing you enter is saved or sent.
Current selection: Existing acquisition; single family.
Possible matches are published facts and calculations, not quotes or confirmed acceptance. Confirm current scope and final price with the seller.
| Seller and offer | Amount | Price type and input limit | Source and checked date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calculated base fees | |||
| CostSegregation.com (KBKG)Residential reportStandard scope selected; written study audit support included. Published calculation, not a quote. | $495 | Published price calculationBuilding basis $400,000; advertised $495 flat-fee tier through $750,000; formula schedule through $1,500,000 | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| DIY Cost SegResidential reportStandard scope selected. Published calculation, not a quote. | $495 | Fixed published fee ruleBuilding basis $400,000; published cap $750,000 | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO Cost SegregationDIYThe published card uses a strict “under” limit. Standard scope selected | $595 | Fixed published priceResidential excluding condos; purchase under $1,000,000; improvements under $10,000 | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO Cost SegregationEngineer ReviewedThe published card uses a strict “under” limit. Standard scope selected | $895 | Fixed published priceResidential including condos; purchase under $1,000,000; improvements under $100,000 | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Cost Seg SmartSingle-family, short-term rental or condo studyStandard scope selected; included audit help described as written CPA methodology support, not IRS representation. | $895 | Fixed published price tierPurchase price $500,000; upper boundary is exclusive | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| My Cost SegregationSelf-ServeCalculated from the public interpolation and rounding rule; final fee is confirmed in an engagement letter.Standard scope selected | $1,397 | Published price formulaProperty value $500,000; interpolated from public calculator anchors | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| SuccentrixOne eligible ordinary buildingNational availability is not established. Unusual property or roughly over $5,000,000 needs scope review. | $1,500 | Fixed published priceOne ordinary building; Dallas–Fort Worth regional firm | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| AE Tax AdvisorsCost segregation studyPublished residential formula illustration, not a quote. Standard scope selected | $2,000 | Published formulaGreater of $2,000 or $1 per billed square foot; 2,000 square feet | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| My Cost SegregationExpert ReviewedCalculated from the public interpolation and rounding rule; final fee is confirmed in an engagement letter.Standard scope selected | $3,400 | Published price formulaProperty value $500,000; interpolated from public calculator anchors | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| StratumSingle residential propertyStandard scope selected | $3,500 | Fixed published priceOne residential property; portfolio terms differ | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Advertised starting prices | |||
| R.E. Cost SegFully Engineered Study, residentialThe page lists a virtual inspection; an in-person visit is extra. Standard scope selected | From $2,320 | Advertised starting priceProperty scope and final fee require provider review | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| CSSICost segregation studyTypically from about $2,500; approximate start. Standard scope selected | From about $2,500 | Approximate starting priceScope and property eligibility need review | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| CSA PartnersEngineering-based studyFrom $3,000; property review applies. Standard scope selected | From about $3,000 | Advertised starting priceScope and property eligibility need review | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Typical ranges | |||
| Madison SPECSCost segregation studyProvider-published typical range; not a quote. | $4,000–$11,000 | Typical rangeNot a price for this property | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Maven Cost SegregationCost segregation studyProvider-published typical range; not a quote. | $4,000–$9,000 | Typical rangeNo fee for this property established | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Needs confirmation | |||
| R.E. Cost SegRapid ReportNeeds square feet per unit. Similar layouts and service dates are not confirmed. Standard scope selected | Needs scope confirmation | Advertised starting priceAcquired residential property; up to four units; under 3,500 square feet per unit; documented renovations within the stated limit | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Seneca Cost SegregationCost segregation studyRequest a current scope-specific quote. | Quote only | No published dollar feeFee not shown on checked help page | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
| Market guidance | |||
| Engineered Tax ServicesGeneral market guidanceKept separate from seller offers because the source presents general market guidance. | $3,000–$12,000 | General market range, not this seller’s tariffNot a quote or an Engineered Tax Services fee | SourceChecked 2026-10-06 |
This is a local browser calculation. It does not collect contact details, save inputs, or send them to a server.
What does each cost segregation seller publish?
This collection has 134 records from 16 seller groups: 110 study-price observations, 16 paid extras, two page conflicts, five quote-only records and one general market range. The seller-fee observations include a $49 report fix and a $13,995 limited-service hotel tier. Each record has its source and October 6, 2026 check date.
| Seller | What it publishes | Kind of price |
|---|---|---|
| CostSegregation.com (software from KBKG) | Residential: $495 up to $750,000 of building, rising to $1,195 at $1,200,000. Commercial: $1,295 up to $1,000,000, with a displayed $1,795 at $1,500,000. Confirm fit at that exact cap; the homepage and FAQ use different limit wording. Bigger buildings get a custom quote. | Fixed, by building cost |
| DIY Cost Seg | Residential, existing home: $495, $795, $995, $1,195 or $1,495 by building basis. New construction: $695 to $1,795. Commercial: $1,295–$3,495 existing; $1,495–$3,695 new. | Fixed, by building cost |
| Cost Seg Smart | Homes: $495 below $300,000; $895 from $300,000 to below $700,000; $995 from $700,000 to below $1,000,000; $10,995 from $10 million to below $25 million. Office and retail: $1,995 below $1,000,000. | Fixed, by purchase price |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO (sister brands) | DIY $595. Engineer Reviewed $895. Fully Engineered from $2,500. | Fixed, then starting |
| My Cost Segregation | Residential self-serve $497–$3,697; reviewed $2,500–$5,700. Commercial self-serve $1,497–$4,297; reviewed $3,500–$6,300. Its public formula gives $1,397 and $3,400 for the $500,000 house. | Formula by property value; custom scope at $1.5 million or more |
| R.E. Cost Seg | Software advertised from $500, with detailed scope unconfirmed. Rapid Report from $950. Fully Engineered from $2,320 residential, $2,730 commercial. | Starting |
| Overline | Base fees by property type: from $1,440 condo, $1,800 single-family, $2,200 small commercial and $5,400 high-rise apartments. Size and scope can add cost. | Starting, by type |
| Succentrix (Dallas–Fort Worth) | $1,500 flat for one building. | Fixed |
| AE Tax Advisors | $1 per square foot, $2,000 minimum. | Rate |
| Stratum | $3,500 for one property. $2,900 each for three to five. | Fixed |
| CSSI | Typically starting around $2,500. | Starting |
| CSA Partners | Fees begin at $3,000. | Starting |
| Engineered Tax Services | Says most professionally prepared studies cost $3,000–$12,000; not expressly its own fee schedule. | General market guidance |
| Madison SPECS | Typical study $4,000–$11,000. | Typical range |
| Maven | Studies typically $4,000–$9,000. | Typical range |
| Seneca | No dollar price. Free proposal first. | Quote only |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026. Overline's prices come from its article dated April 2, 2026. Full rows, limits and add-ons are in the download.
What kind of price is it?
A price tag at a store is one kind of number. "Starting at" on a car ad is another. This page keeps them apart, using the same labels as our methodology.
- Fixed price. The seller lists a fee for a defined offer. Check its scope before you order.
- Rate or formula. The page gives the math, like $1 per square foot.
- Starting price. A floor. Your price may be higher.
- Range. The price lands somewhere between two numbers, and the page doesn't say where.
- Typical range. What a seller says its studies usually cost. It is not an exact fee or a guaranteed minimum.
- General market guidance. What a provider says studies cost across the market, without clearly calling it its own fee.
- Quote only. No number at all.
What happens to the cheapest prices when you add audit help?
Add each seller's listed audit help, and the five cheapest base offers in this sample with a known support total for the $500,000 house cost $495, $790, $790, $895 and $1,090. Two sellers whose report prices are $100 apart both land on $790. Audit help is not the same service at each seller.
Audit help is the help a seller promises if its study is questioned. Its scope and conditions differ by offer. Some sellers fold that into the price. Some charge extra.
| Seller and offer | Report price | Audit help | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| CostSegregation.com residential report | $495 | Included | $495 |
| DIY Cost Seg residential report | $495 | +$295 | $790 |
| Cost Seg EZ DIY | $595 | +$195 | $790 |
| Cost Seg Smart study | $895 | Included | $895 |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO Engineer Reviewed | $895 | +$195 | $1,090 |
Source: CostSegregation.com, DIY Cost Seg order form, MVO Cost Segregation and Cost Seg Smart, checked October 6, 2026. Totals by CostSegregationMatch. Tax preparation and Form 3115 work are not in these totals.
Look at the two $790 rows. DIY Cost Seg starts $100 cheaper. Its audit option costs $100 more. They tie.
That $295 option is big next to the report. $295 ÷ $495 = 59.6%. It is like buying a $5 sandwich and paying $3 more for the plate. At Cost Seg EZ the add-on is $195 ÷ $595 = 32.8%.
| Seller | Price | What the seller says it covers |
|---|---|---|
| CostSegregation.com | Included | Answers written IRS questions about the report and can join calls with the auditor |
| DIY Cost Seg | $295 when buying the report; discretionary later assistance from $1,995 | Supports your tax professional; does not represent you directly. Notify it within 5 business days of any first IRS audit notice and before contacting the IRS. Photos or video are required; travel and unforeseen extra work may cost more. Policy terms. |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO | $195 on DIY and Engineer Reviewed; included with Fully Engineered | Answers questions about its study and defends its method |
| Cost Seg Smart | Included | Written answers to your CPA's questions about the method. No IRS representation. |
| R.E. Cost Seg | Included | Written responses about its study. No IRS representation, testimony or tax return work. |
| CSA Partners | Included | No-cost audit support for 36 months after the study |
| My Cost Segregation | Included; upgrade $1,500 | A written pledge capped at 40 hours over 3 years, with notice deadlines. The $1,500 upgrade adds an 80-hour pool, Appeals help and a 2-business-day response. |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026.
To see the work behind three of these offers side by side, read our study offer comparison.
Do engineered cost segregation studies really start at $5,000?
Published engineering-study fees can be below $5,000. Succentrix lists $1,500 for one building, and R.E. Cost Seg lists a residential start of $2,320. The "$5,000 to $15,000" range shows up in practitioner guides, but the pages below do not disclose a national sample of fees paid behind that range.
Here, 'engineered' follows each seller's description of its engineering-based service. It does not mean the reports include the same work or meet the same quality standard. Some self-service products also use engineering-based methods.
| Seller | Published number | Kind of price | Top of typical range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Succentrix (Dallas–Fort Worth) | $1,500 | Fixed, one building | — |
| Overline | $1,800 | Starting base fee, single-family | — |
| R.E. Cost Seg | $2,320 | Starting price, residential | — |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO | $2,500 | Starting price | — |
| CSSI | about $2,500 | Approximate starting price | — |
| CSA Partners | $3,000 | Starting price | — |
| Stratum | $3,500 | Fixed, one residential property | — |
| Madison SPECS | $4,000 | Low end of typical range | $11,000 |
| Maven | $4,000 | Low end of typical range | $9,000 |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026. Compiled by CostSegregationMatch.
The nine examples include two flat fees, five advertised starting fees and two typical ranges. Each flat fee and advertised start is below $5,000. Madison and Maven give typical ranges of $4,000–$11,000 and $4,000–$9,000. We do not turn these different kinds of numbers into one average or median.
Where does the $5,000 to $15,000 number come from?
We could not find where it started. Here is where we found it.
| Page | What it says | Date on the page | Source it gives |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clark Schaefer Hackett FAQ | Fees typically run $5,000 to $15,000 | July 1, 2022 | No fee dataset or sample disclosed |
| Baselane guide | Averages of $5,000–$15,000 | January 9, 2026 | No fee dataset or sample disclosed |
| Cost Seg Smart pricing study | Traditional firms typically charge $5,000 to $15,000 and up | 2026 | Its own mix of published and customer-reported prices; underlying quotes not independently checked here |
| DIY Cost Seg | Traditional studies start at a minimum of $5,000 | Not shown | No fee dataset or sample disclosed |
| Patrick Accounting | $5,000 to $60,000 | September 18, 2025 | No national fee sample disclosed |
| Engineered Tax Services | Most professionally prepared studies range from $3,000 to $12,000 | Not shown | General market guidance; not expressly an ETS tariff |
Source: each page, checked October 6, 2026.
The oldest one we found is from 2022. It is a firm's guidance to its clients, not a count of what people paid.
One limit, said plainly. Firms that publish nothing may charge more than $5,000. We can't see their prices, so we can't say.
What does $495 actually cover?
Three sellers list $495, but not for the same size of property. Two of them cover an existing home with up to $750,000 of building cost, before later improvements. The third covers purchases strictly below $300,000.
| Seller | What $495 covers | Who does the work | Audit help |
|---|---|---|---|
| CostSegregation.com | Up to $750,000 of building cost, land not counted | You enter the property details | Included |
| DIY Cost Seg | Up to $750,000 of purchase price minus land, existing homes | You enter the property details | +$295 |
| Cost Seg Smart | Homes bought for under $300,000 | The seller prepares the report | Included |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026.
Say land is 20% of what you paid. That's our assumption, and your actual land share may differ. Then $750,000 of building is a $937,500 house. The advertised $495 base-tier limits are about three times apart: $937,500 ÷ $300,000 = 3.1. The $937,500 tier limit is included; the $300,000 limit is not. KBKG rounds its fee to $5, so its formula can still return $495 just above its advertised tier limit.
A fourth seller, My Cost Segregation, starts $2 higher, at $497.
| Purchase price | CostSegregation.com | DIY existing purchase | Cost Seg Smart |
|---|---|---|---|
| $200,000 | $495 | $495 | $495 |
| $300,000 | $495 | $495 | $895 |
| $500,000 | $495 | $495 | $895 |
| $700,000 | $495 | $495 | $995 |
| $937,500 | $495 | $495 | $995 |
| $1,000,000 | $575 | $795 | $1,295 |
| $1,250,000 | $885 | $795 | $1,295 |
| $1,500,000 | $1,195 | $795 | $1,595 |
| $1,875,000 | $1,195† | $795 | $1,595 |
Source: the three seller price rules, checked October 6, 2026; calculations by CostSegregationMatch. Each example is an existing one-unit home with no improvements and an assumed 20% land share. †At $1.5 million of building basis, KBKG's displayed fee is $1,195, but its homepage and FAQ use different cap wording; confirm eligibility. The CSV retains that limit.
How many cost segregation sellers publish a price you can use?
In this collection, eight of 16 seller groups publish a fee or rule that can price a stated property before a quote. Six publish only starts or ranges for their own studies. For two, the checked pages establish no own dollar fee.
| Group | Count | Sellers |
|---|---|---|
| A fee or rule you can calculate | 8 | CostSegregation.com, DIY Cost Seg, Cost Seg Smart, Cost Seg EZ / MVO, My Cost Segregation, Succentrix, AE Tax Advisors, Stratum |
| Only a starting price or a typical range for their own studies | 6 | R.E. Cost Seg, Overline, CSSI, CSA Partners, Madison SPECS, Maven |
| No own dollar fee established on checked pages | 2 | Engineered Tax Services (general market range only), Seneca |
Source: CostSegregationMatch count from seller pages, checked October 6, 2026.
These 16 are not every seller in the country. This was not a random sample, so it does not show what share of the full market publishes usable prices.
What does a cost segregation study cost by property type?
The two detailed price tables below break fees down by property type. For apartments, Cost Seg Smart's lowest published tier is $1,995, and Overline starts at $2,200 for five to 20 units. For self storage their low-end figures are $2,495 and $2,400. Limited-service hotel and motel figures begin at $3,495 and $2,800.
| Property type | Cost Seg Smart (selected range below a $10 million purchase) | Overline (starting base fee) |
|---|---|---|
| Single-family, short-term rental, condo | $495–$7,995 | From $1,440 condo; from $1,800 single-family |
| Duplex, triplex, fourplex | $995–$8,495 | From $1,800 |
| Apartments, 5+ units | $1,995–$10,495 | From $2,200 for 5–20 units; from $4,400 with a clubhouse |
| Office, retail, mixed-use | $1,995–$8,495 | $2,200+ |
| Restaurant, medical, specialty | $2,995–$10,995 | From $2,200 quick-service restaurant; from $2,600 full-service restaurant |
| Industrial and warehouse | $2,495–$9,795 | $3,400+ industrial; $4,400+ warehouse |
| Self storage | $2,495–$10,995 | From $2,400 drive-up; from $4,400 climate-controlled |
| Hotel and motel | $3,495–$13,995 for limited service; full service quoted separately | From $2,800 motel; from $3,400 full-service hotel |
Source: Cost Seg Smart pricing page, checked October 6, 2026, and Overline's article dated April 2, 2026, checked October 6, 2026.
What about a small office?
Take an existing office someone bought for $1,250,000, with $250,000 of land, $1,000,000 of building, 8,000 square feet and no renovations. Six base fees from five sellers work out to $1,295–$5,700. The highest is about 4.4 times the lowest: $5,700 ÷ $1,295 = 4.40.
AE Tax Advisors also publishes a rate by the square foot. At $1 a foot, 8,000 square feet is $8,000. That is a rate example, kept outside the six-price comparison because commercial scope needs confirmation. Overline advertises a starting office fee of $2,200, also outside the fixed-fee comparison.
| Seller | Listed or calculated price | How we got it |
|---|---|---|
| CostSegregation.com commercial report | $1,295 | $1,000,000 of building is the top of its flat tier |
| DIY Cost Seg commercial report | $1,295 | Existing acquisition: $1,250,000 minus $250,000 land is inside its first commercial tier; $1,590 with optional audit support |
| Succentrix (Dallas–Fort Worth) | $1,500 | Flat fee for one building; national availability not confirmed |
| Cost Seg Smart office | $3,295 | $1,250,000 is at least $1 million and below $3 million |
| My Cost Segregation Commercial Self-Serve | $3,697 | Public formula at $1,250,000 property value; final fee must be confirmed in the seller's engagement letter |
| My Cost Segregation Commercial Reviewed | $5,700 | Public reviewed formula at $1,250,000 property value; final fee must be confirmed in the seller's engagement letter |
| Overline office | From $2,200 | Starting base price; no size surcharge below 10,000 sq ft; other charges can apply |
| AE Tax Advisors | $8,000 formula example | 8,000 sq ft × $1; commercial scope needs confirmation |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026. The land amount and square feet are our assumptions.
Engineered studies for commercial buildings start at $2,500 (Cost Seg EZ / MVO), $2,730 (R.E. Cost Seg) and $3,000 (CSA Partners).
What extras cost money?
Published extras include a $49 correction fee and later audit help starting at $1,995. Audit help bought with a base report costs $195 or $295 at the sellers below. Form 3115 work costs $450, $600 or $750 at the three sellers in this collection that price it. For prior-year depreciation changes, see our look-back study guide.
| Extra | Seller | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Fix to a finished report | DIY Cost Seg | $49 |
| Audit help, bought with the report | Cost Seg EZ / MVO | $195 |
| Audit help, bought with the report | DIY Cost Seg | $295 |
| Discretionary audit help, asked for later | DIY Cost Seg | From $1,995 |
| Audit help upgrade | My Cost Segregation | $1,500 |
| Form 3115 look-back filing | Succentrix | $450 |
| Form 3115 preparation, with Rapid or Fully Engineered | R.E. Cost Seg | $600 |
| Form 3115 package, standard case | My Cost Segregation | $750 |
| In-person visit | Cost Seg Smart | $995 or $1,495 |
| On-site inspection | Overline | From $800 |
| Acquisition plus later improvements | DIY residential / commercial | +$99 / +$199 |
| Concierge assistance with the initial purchase | DIY Cost Seg | +$200 residential / +$300 commercial |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026.
Is Form 3115 part of the price?
It is a separate paid option at the three sellers above. Form 3115, Application for Change in Accounting Method, may be used to change how depreciation is accounted for on property already in service.
A starting price can grow fast. R.E. Cost Seg's Rapid Report starts at $950. Its Form 3115 option is $600. Together that is from $1,550 before other charges. R.E. also lists the $600 preparation option for its Fully Engineered study. Preparation and filing are separate tasks; ask who handles each.
Whether you need the form is a question for your tax preparer.
What does help filling in the report cost?
DIY's concierge help adds $200 for a residential study or $300 for a commercial study. It covers the original purchase, not later improvements or new construction. For the house above, $495 + $200 = $695, or $990 with the $295 audit option. For the office, $1,295 + $300 = $1,595, or $1,890 with support; a commercial appraisal is required. These optional configurations are outside the base-fee median.
Does a portfolio get a lower price per property?
At some sellers, yes. Stratum lists $2,900 per property for three to five properties, against $3,500 for one. That is $600, or 17.1%, less per property.
Say you own three rentals. At $2,900 each, that is $8,700. At the single price it would be $10,500. You'd keep $1,800.
| Seller | Offer |
|---|---|
| Stratum | $2,900 each for 3–5 properties; custom for 6 or more |
| CostSegregation.com | 10%, 15% or 20% off later reports after you have spent $2,500, $7,500 or $15,000; from qualification through the end of the next calendar year |
| Succentrix | $1,500 for each added building, the same as the first |
| Overline | Automatic 10% discount for more than one study in one engagement |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026.
How long does each kind of study take?
The sellers in this table publish times from instant software delivery to about 45 days for a reviewed report. Many clocks start only after all documents arrive or a site visit is done. These are seller time estimates, not delivery times we measured.
| Seller and offer | Published turnaround |
|---|---|
| CostSegregation.com | Software report; no numeric turnaround confirmed on the checked pages |
| DIY Cost Seg | About 5 minutes to enter details; report available instantly after payment, according to the seller |
| Cost Seg EZ DIY | Instant after input |
| Cost Seg Smart | Usually the next business day; complete inputs and scope matter |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO Engineer Reviewed | 3 to 5 business days |
| My Cost Segregation Self-Serve | Within 3 business days of complete intake |
| My Cost Segregation Reviewed | About 45 days from complete intake |
| DIY concierge assistance | Up to 7 business days |
| R.E. Cost Seg Rapid Report | About 5 business days after payment and completed questionnaire |
| Stratum | 14 days for one property |
| R.E. Cost Seg Fully Engineered | Typically 15 to 20 business days after documents and virtual inspection |
| Seneca | Most in 2 to 4 weeks; depends on complexity and receipt of information |
| Overline | 2 to 4 weeks |
| Cost Seg EZ / MVO Fully Engineered | 3 to 4 weeks |
| CSA Partners | Typically 3 to 4 weeks from engagement to final report |
| Engineered Tax Services | Typically 4 to 6 weeks from start to finish |
| Maven | Within 30 days after the site visit |
Source: each seller's own page, checked October 6, 2026. The clock often starts only after you send your documents.
Do cost segregation sellers charge a share of your tax savings?
None of the numeric seller fees recorded here is stated as a share of tax savings. They are published dollar fees, rates, starts or ranges; no quotes were obtained. The IRS audit guide tells examiners to check the fee arrangement. It discusses project fees plus expenses and contingency fees based on the tax benefit.
Here, a contingency fee is tied to the tax benefit from the study. The passage is in Chapter 5, printed page 50, of the IRS Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide (Publication 5653, revised February 2025). It says fees tied to tax benefits can create an incentive to seek larger benefits and may draw closer review. This is examiner guidance, not a finding about any seller on this page.
So ask any seller one plain question: how is your fee set?
Do two pages from the same seller ever disagree?
Yes. On October 6, 2026, DIY Cost Seg's homepage showed a residential maximum of $1,795, while its order landing page showed $995. Its current order form gave $1,495 for an existing purchase and $1,795 for new construction. The shared $495 minimum applies to existing purchases.
| DIY Cost Seg page | Residential | Commercial |
|---|---|---|
| Homepage | $495–$1,795 | $1,295–$3,695 |
| Order landing page | $495 up to $995 | $1,295 up to $2,690 |
| Order form price rule | $495 to $1,495 for an existing home; $695 to $1,795 for new construction | Commercial rule: $1,295–$3,495 existing; $1,495–$3,695 new construction |
Source: each page, checked October 6, 2026.
The gap between the homepage and the order landing page is $800 on the residential side ($1,795 − $995) and $1,005 on the commercial side ($3,695 − $2,690).
This is not proof of a price change. It is a same-day mismatch, and the form also splits existing purchases from new construction. The lesson is simple: check the current order total and its terms before you plan around a number from a homepage. Optional support and improvement fees are separate.
Why does this matter now?
A 2025 law restored 100% bonus depreciation for qualified property acquired and placed in service after January 19, 2025. IRS Notice 2026-11 gives interim guidance on these rules.
Bonus depreciation lets an owner deduct the cost of qualifying property sooner. A cost segregation study may identify building parts that qualify. Whether those deductions help you depends on your tax situation, so ask your tax preparer.
How did we build this pricing data?
We read the seller pages on October 6, 2026 and recorded the study prices, paid extras, page conflicts and quote requirements covered by this database. That gave us 134 rows from 16 seller groups. Of those, 129 contain a dollar figure: 128 seller-fee observations and one provider's general market range. We applied the verified fee rules to two stated property examples; no quotes or prices paid were collected.
Here is the whole method.
- One row per observation. Each row has the seller, the offer, the price, what kind of price it is, the limit, the link, and the date we checked. An observation can be a flat fee, a formula, a range or an extra. These are not 134 distinct prices; some sources describe the same offer in more than one way.
- Seller pages only. No forums. No roundups. No guesses.
- Read the public price rules. We read CostSegregation.com's price-slider functions, both DIY order-form rules, Cost Seg Smart's price matrix and calculator rule, and My Cost Segregation's slider functions. We reproduced the rules without submitting an order.
- Two stated examples. We applied the relevant rules to one house and one office. The math is in each row. Land, floor area, no renovations and property value equal to purchase price are our assumptions. The house median counts base offers with one calculable fee, before optional help or portfolio discounts; it excludes starts, typical ranges and unconfirmed eligibility.
- Seller groups. Cost Seg EZ and MVO identify themselves as sister brands, so they are one seller group here. The count is of the named selling brands we checked, not a verified count of independent corporate owners.
- Mismatches stay visible. When two pages from one seller disagree, both are in the data.
You can redo any row. Open its source link and use the stated input and fee rule. A source's supporting links show where we checked its extra terms. In the CSV, a blank amount means unknown or not applicable, never zero. The legacy column fixed_price_for_this_property marks either a flat fee or a public-rule calculation; its text says when a quote or scope check is still needed.
Some limits matter when you reuse the numbers. Overline's 34 study fees and its inspection start come from the April 2, 2026 article; its current service page has no dollar fee. AE's rate and Cost Seg Smart's commercial bands were checked in their current pricing-page bodies. Succentrix is a Dallas–Fort Worth firm; national availability was not confirmed.
The headline range stays $495–$3,500 if AE or Succentrix is left out. The median changes to $895 in either case. The $1,146 median describes this exact ten-offer set. It is not a claim about the whole market.
Several source boundaries also need care: KBKG says both 'up to' and 'under' $1.5 million of basis; DIY's code includes $5 million while its notice requires review at $5 million or more; EZ's reviewed-study pages disagree at exactly $100,000 of renovations. Those cases are marked for confirmation in the lookup rules.
No paid placement was used in this analysis. The seller links on this page are plain citations. Here is how we make money and how we check sources.
What does this data show, and what doesn't it show?
It shows what 16 sellers put in writing on one day. It does not show what anyone finally paid.
- Not quotes. We have no quotes and no invoices in this data.
- Not the whole market. Sixteen seller groups is a selected sample, not a census. Many sellers are outside this collection.
- Not a market average. The median of ten base prices for our stated house is $1,146. That is not the average price people pay, and it changes when offers or assumptions change.
- Not a quality score. A price says nothing about how good a report is. We have not bought or tested any study.
- Not equal products. Software you fill in and a study an engineer prepares are different things.
- Not a trend. One day of checks can't show prices going up or down.
- Not tax advice. Whether a study pays off for you is a question for your tax preparer.
Other price lists for this topic exist. CostSegregationMatch publishes comparisons and does not sell studies; its funding disclosure explains the business. Every data row has a source.
If you're comparing these prices for your own property, Find My Cost Seg Provider shows which published offers fit it. You don't need an account, an email or a phone number.
How do you cite this page?
Cite the same-house numbers as CostSegregationMatch's analysis, with the date. If you only use one seller's price, cite that seller's page.
CostSegregationMatch. "Cost segregation pricing data: same house, $495–$3,500." Updated October 2026. Seller pages checked October 6, 2026. https://costsegregationmatch.com/research/cost-segregation-pricing/
A sentence you can use as is:
For a $500,000 rental house with $100,000 of land, 2,000 square feet and no renovations, ten base study prices from eight sellers work out to $495–$3,500, with a median of $1,146, according to CostSegregationMatch's October 2026 analysis of published fees.
You may reuse our original tables, calculations and charts with credit to CostSegregationMatch. Keep each row's source and any underlying source terms.
Where can you download the data?
Three free CSV files hold the pricing records, property examples and chart calculations on this page. There is no form and no sign-up.
- cost-segregation-pricing-data.csv — 134 records from 16 seller groups: study prices, extras, mismatches, quote requirements and one labeled market-guidance range.
- cost-segregation-standard-property-prices.csv — 33 rows. The $500,000 house and small office, with calculations and cases that need a quote.
- cost-segregation-price-coverage.csv — 27 rows. Nine purchase prices at three sellers, plus the limits of their $495 tiers.
Each file includes source links and a check date. The main file also records study type, property scope, the price input, limits, included work, turnaround, source-page dates, the check method and confidence. Its source-page date field distinguishes visible dates from metadata dates; neither is treated as the date a price took effect.
Questions people ask about cost segregation prices
How much does a cost segregation report cost?
The lowest base-study fee in this collection is $495. For the stated $500,000 rental house, ten prices worked out from published fees run from $495 to $3,500, with $1,146 in the middle. Madison lists a typical $4,000–$11,000 range and Maven $4,000–$9,000; neither is a quote for this house.
Can I do cost segregation myself?
Yes, some sellers offer software where you enter the property details. CostSegregation.com and DIY Cost Seg start at $495, and Cost Seg EZ's DIY report is $595. Ask your tax preparer whether that kind of report fits your property.
What is the cheapest cost segregation study?
The lowest base-study fee in this collection is $495. Three sellers list it: CostSegregation.com, DIY Cost Seg and Cost Seg Smart. Each covers a different size of property, so check the limit first.
What is the average cost of a cost segregation study?
The median in this exact house example is $1,146 across ten base study prices. This collection does not establish an average price paid. It records posted fees and calculations, not a representative sample of customer invoices.
Do cost segregation studies really cost $5,000 to $15,000?
Some may. We found the $5,000–$15,000 range in practitioner guides, but no disclosed national fee sample behind those statements. Published engineering-service examples below $5,000 include Succentrix's $1,500 flat fee and R.E. Cost Seg's residential start of $2,320. Scope differs.
How much does a study cost for commercial property?
For our $1,250,000 office with $250,000 of land, 8,000 square feet and no renovations, six base prices work out to $1,295–$5,700. Engineering-service examples include $1,500 flat at Succentrix in Texas, from $2,500 at MVO, from $2,730 at R.E. and from $3,000 at CSA. Some large or unusual buildings need a custom quote.
Does the price include audit support?
Sometimes. CostSegregation.com and Cost Seg Smart include it. DIY Cost Seg charges $295 and Cost Seg EZ charges $195 on its two lower tiers. What "support" covers differs by seller.
Is Form 3115 included in the price?
Three sellers in this collection price it apart: $450, $600 and $750. Ask before you order, and ask your tax preparer whether you need it.
Is there a free calculator for cost segregation?
Several sellers offer a free estimate of tax savings. That is not the same as a free study. The lookup on this page is free and shows published study prices, not savings.
Are these prices quotes?
No. They are the prices, starting prices and ranges sellers publish. Your final price comes from the seller's order page or written proposal.
Sources
Every source was checked on October 6, 2026.
- CostSegregation.com, pricing section — checked October 6, 2026.
- CostSegregation.com, FAQ — checked October 6, 2026.
- DIY Cost Seg, homepage — checked October 6, 2026.
- DIY Cost Seg, rental order form — checked October 6, 2026.
- DIY Cost Seg, order landing page — checked October 6, 2026.
- DIY Cost Seg, FAQ — checked October 6, 2026.
- Cost Seg Smart, pricing — checked October 6, 2026.
- Cost Seg Smart, price article — checked October 6, 2026.
- Cost Seg Smart, pricing study — checked October 6, 2026.
- Cost Seg EZ — checked October 6, 2026.
- MVO Cost Segregation, pricing — checked October 6, 2026.
- My Cost Segregation, pricing — checked October 6, 2026.
- R.E. Cost Seg, Rapid Report — checked October 6, 2026.
- R.E. Cost Seg, study guide — checked October 6, 2026.
- Overline, pricing article dated April 2, 2026 — checked October 6, 2026.
- Succentrix Business Advisors, McKinney, Texas — checked October 6, 2026.
- AE Tax Advisors, current pricing guide (visible update September 26, 2026) — checked October 6, 2026.
- Stratum Cost Segregation, pricing — checked October 6, 2026.
- CSSI, calculator page — checked October 6, 2026.
- CSA Partners — checked October 6, 2026.
- Engineered Tax Services — checked October 6, 2026.
- Madison SPECS, FAQ — checked October 6, 2026.
- Maven Cost Segregation, referral page — checked October 6, 2026.
- Seneca Cost Segregation, help page — checked October 6, 2026.
- Clark Schaefer Hackett, FAQ dated July 1, 2022 — checked October 6, 2026.
- Baselane, guide dated January 9, 2026 — checked October 6, 2026.
- Patrick Accounting, article dated September 18, 2025 — checked October 6, 2026.
- IRS, Cost Segregation Audit Techniques Guide, Publication 5653 (rev. 2-2025) — checked October 6, 2026.
- IRS, About Form 3115 — checked October 6, 2026.
- IRS, Notice 2026-11 — checked October 6, 2026.
- DIY Cost Seg, commercial order form — checked October 6, 2026.
- DIY Cost Seg, audit-defense terms — checked October 6, 2026.
- DIY Cost Seg, concierge offer — checked October 6, 2026.
- Cost Seg EZ, service scope — checked October 6, 2026.
- R.E. Cost Seg, Fully Engineered Study — checked October 6, 2026.
- R.E. Cost Seg, service comparison — checked October 6, 2026.
- Overline, current service page — checked October 6, 2026.
- AE Tax Advisors, service scope — checked October 6, 2026.
- Maven, engineering process and delivery — checked October 6, 2026.
- IRS, Publication 527 (land and depreciation) — checked October 6, 2026.
- IRS, Topic 704 (depreciation) — checked October 6, 2026.
- IRS, Instructions for Form 3115 — checked October 6, 2026.
- My Cost Segregation, public price-slider rules read with its pricing page — checked October 6, 2026.
- Cost Seg Smart, public price-calculator rules read with its pricing page — checked October 6, 2026.